Published by LawTechie - November 10, 2010 - LawTechie

The State of Missouri has just recently obtained a preliminary injunction against Sirius XM Radio to prevent the company from telemarketing to Missouri residents who had placed their names on the State’s “do not call” list (as opposed to the Federal Trade Commission list). Missouri v. Sirius XM Radio, Inc., Mo. Cir. Ct., No. 1022-CC10965.

While the FTC registry was enacted to harmonize the separate state registries already in force, this case underscores the importance of “per state” analysis when it comes to business regulatory issues.

Note: The following states continue to maintain separate do not call registries: Colorado, Florida, Indiana, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Mississippi, Missouri, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Texas, Wisconsin, and Wyoming.

Related articles
LawTechie is a blog focusing on trends in tech and digital media. Areas covered include intellectual property, cyberlaw, venture capital, transactions and litigation as they relate to the emerging sectors. The blog is edited by the firm's partner Tim Bukher with contributions from the firm's experts in their respective areas of law.


Enter your email to get started.